©2017 Star Jewelers, All Rights Reseved-Worldwide

Diamond Clarity- A Less Clear Subject- (The 2nd Important Grade)

When Diamonds are formed in the earth, the process of their creation will create a “fingerprint” in the individual Diamond. This “fingerprint” is what makes diamonds different from each other. Trying to make the subject easier to understand, I am going to compare this to the “DNA” of the Diamond. It is born or created with certain traits, or characteristics. Clarity ratings of Diamonds are based on the amount of Diamond inclusions, and or flaws, or the lack of. Remember that Diamonds without flaws or inclusions are very rare and very expensive.

  An inclusion is something that is internal to the Diamond, such as a Crystal, Needle or Pinpoint to name a few, there are many more. Simply stated these are slight imperfections, which are the “DNA” of your Diamond. When talking about Diamond Blemishes, you are talking about external flaws on the surfaces of your Diamond. Blemishes are and can be created by bad Diamond Handling, Wear, and different Diamond Cutting practices.

Together Inclusions or Flaws are the “DNA” of your Diamond, and will create its Clarity Rating.

The Clarity Rating of a Diamond is based on the least amount of Inclusions or Flaws. The less inclusions and or flaws; the better the Clarity rating. The better the Clarity Rating, the higher the cost.

The overall best way to look at the whole picture is to ask yourself, “is perfection important?” what can you afford, or what can the naked eye see. The majority of what is being discussed is microscopic as a general rule, and most do not subtract from the beauty of your Diamond as you see it (with your naked eye) without a microscopic analysis. Clarity Ratings are as follows:

Diamond Carat -  (The 4th Important Grade)

Diamond Cut

D-F colorless   G-J Near Colorless   K-M  Faint Yellow Tint   N-R Very Light Yellow Tint   S-Z Light Yellow Tint

Diamond Color

Diamond Clarity

Diamond weight is measured in a metric weight called a “carat”. Simply stated on a scale that reads in milligrams, the weight of 1 carat would be exactly 200 milligrams. Each carat of weight is divided into “points” a very precise measurement. 1Carat=100 points. (1carat=1.00) and a half carat would be .50 carat (or exactly 100 milligrams or 50 points). Larger Diamonds are rarer, and usually cost more. The value of a Diamond of the same weight can vary depending on color, clarity and especially the cut of the stone.

The “4c’s” of Diamonds - The Simple Version

Each and every Diamond has a color grade. The lack of color (or absence of color- or whiteness) the higher the color grade.The diamond color chart grading begins at the color “D” in the alphabet and ends at  the letter “Z”. D color diamonds are
the highest grade they are considered colorless (or very white). As you proceed down the color chart to the Letter “Z”, diamonds will have more of a yellow, or even a yellow-brown tint. The “D” diamond is the highest cost diamond, due to its lack of color or whiteness. Diamonds such as Black, Pink Colored and others are considered Fancy Colored, and are rated differently.When grading a diamond’s color it is examined under special controlled lighting, and then compared to “master color stones”.

Welcome To Star Jewelers - The 4C's Diamond Education Page

Diamond Carat Weight

Diamond Color -  (The 3rd Important Grade)

Our jeweler takes time with each customer to educate them on Diamonds before their purchase.

Diamond Cut - A Diamond’s Report Card (The 1st Important grade)


Diamond Cut is a term that identifies a particular diamond’s ability to reflect light. Reflection of the light is just one part of the equation, usually referred to as Brightness. The cut refers to a Diamond’s reflection (as well as refraction) of light. This gives the Diamond its fire, and sparkle. This is the way a Diamond uses white light to create other colors, which we see, when viewing the Diamond and its contrast (scintillation). The Diamond is cut and has certain geometric proportions, as well as symmetry. The Diamond is then polished revealing the facets of the Diamond; we are now able to see the individual qualities of the particular Diamond, as well as individual flaws. (subtle or small). Some Gemologists include a polish grade, when grading a Diamond. The reasoning behind this is that polishing can create subtle flaws, as the microscopic crystals, are dragged across a facet, as well as polishing marks. Diamond Cuts are usually written on a diamond grading or an appraisal report starting at Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair, and ending at Poor.

We will not talk about Diamonds cut too deep or too shallow, but what I will say is the Diamond Cut should be at the top of your list, when searching for a diamond. It is an overall report card, of how the diamond cutter did.

All this being said there are many gemological labs out there who offer Diamond Appraisals, as well as Diamond grading, such as GIA, Blue Nile and others. What you will find in almost every case is that these certifications or appraisals come with a much higher price tag, but offer “peace of mind”, or the feeling of “money well spent”.

The 4C's